I'm participating in Dell's enterprise-oriented live web cast about Windows 7 migration today, so if you're considering such a thing, you might want to check it out. Today's webcast is part one of a two-part series (the second happens July 7), and deals with the planning stages of the migration. This is the second time I've contributed to a Dell webcast on this topic, and the difference this time around is both the audience (more of a decision maker perspective) and some of the feedback we've gotten since the first round about the top migration issues companies have faced in the real world.

You can register for the webcast here. The event starts at 2pm ET (11 am PT) and runs for one hour. Here's the official description:

Dell was involved in 65 Windows 7 early adoption programs (only OEM partner of Microsoft to do so) and many other OS migrations. New methods of managing through this migration process can make it very different from your previous experiences.
Do not miss this 2-part webcast on Windows 7 Migration, to be presented by Paul Thurrott, News Editor for Windows IT Pro, and Phil Dakas, Senior Solutions Architect, Dell Consulting, as they share perspectives on:

  • Preparing your organization for Windows 7
  • Common challenges, including that of Application Compatibility/Testing
  • Questions you may not have asked yet but need to before embarking on this journey
  • Tools available to help you in your journey

Basically, what we're looking at here is me presenting the high-level theory behind this migration and providing information about the Microsoft tools used to make it happen. On the Dell side is some serious real-world experience and an interesting set of products and solutions that should be of interest to larger environments.

(BTW: If you listen to the Windows Weekly podcast, you may know that we normally record at the time of this webcast, so we're pushing the podcast start time back to 3:30 pm ET (12:30 pm PT) today.)